Monday, May 21, 2012

Free Album Streaming: New CDs from The Walkmen, Regina Spektor, Sigur Rós, & More

New albums by some much-loved indie musicians are streaming online this week, including The Walkmen, Regina Spektor, Sigur Rós, Saint Etienne, and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. I'm looking forward to listening to all of those.

Some other streaming releases I'm interested in checking out: the new live album by the Tedeschi Trucks Band, the new disc from Gossip, and the first album in five years from '80s/'90s British band The Cult. (Note: Gossip plays New York's Terminal 5 Tuesday the 22nd; tickets are still available. And the Gossip set will be streamed live at 9:45 at

Also of interest: "Occupy This Album," a collection inspired by/dedicated to the Occupy Wall Steet movement and related endeavors. It features contributions by longtime activist musicians such as Jackson Browne, Ani DiFranco, and David Crosby and Graham Nash, as well as by Richard Barone (of The Bongos), Thievery Corporation, Our Lady Peace, the Warren Haynes Band, and James McMurtry with Joan Baez and Steve Earle.  

As with other such "cause"-related collections featuring contributions by diverse artists, I'm not sure how it will hang together as a cohesive album, but the good thing about streaming is the ability to "try before you buy."

Also this week are new albums by John Mayer, Shannon Stephens, The Cult, and another chance to stream the debut album by Kimbra.

NPR First Listen:
"What We Saw From The Cheap Seats" by Regina Spektor
"Valtari" by Sigur Rós
"Words And Music" by Saint Etienne
"Heaven" by The Walkmen
"Here" by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros's Listening Party:
"A Joyful Noise" by Gossip
"Everybody's Talkin'" by the Tedeschi Trucks Band
"Vows" by Kimbra
"Choice of Weapon" by The Cult
"Too Tough to Live" by Dan Sartain
"Continuity Girl" by Modern Time Machines
"Pull It Together" by Shannon Stephens

AOL Music Listening Party: 
"Born and Raised" by John Mayer
"Constantinople" by The Ides of Gemini
"Occupy This Album" by Various Artists

No comments :