Sunday, August 14, 2011

Hear "How Come You Never Go There," the First Single from Feist's New Album

It's been quite a while, but Feist has released the first single from her forthcoming album, "Metals" (which drops on Oct. 4th). She put out the song, "How Come You Never Go There," on her YouTube page a couple of days ago; I came across it on NPR Music.

This is Feist's first album since her breakthrough "The Reminder," which was way back in 2007. According to her record label, Canada's Arts and Crafts, "Recorded between Toronto and Big Sur, California and co-produced by longtime collaborators Chilly Gonzales and Mocky, as well as newcomer Valgeir SigurĂ°sson (Bjork, Bonnie "Prince" Billy), Metals marks Feist's celebratory return to the world stage."

Although this is the first full-length song from "Metals," Feist has been releasing a series of teasers (there are to be 12 in all) with snippets from various songs. (It appears a new one is to be released Monday, Aug. 15th, according to her website.) See the track listing for the new album at the end of this post.

Two of the "vignettes," as they're being called, are below. The snippet called "#1" has a techno sound, with drumming playing over time-lapse photography. In "#3," Arts and Crafts says, we see "Feist, Gonzales, Mocky, and SigurĂ°sson at work on the album," with a string section. (See the Feist YouTube page or her website for more video snippets and information.)

The "Tour Dates" section of her website is empty, but the site does show the track listing for the album (which is available for pre-order through

"Metals" – Track listing:
1. The Bad In Each Other
2. Graveyard
3. Caught A Long Wind
4. How Come You Never Go There
5. A Commotion
6. Bittersweet Melodies
7. Anti Pioneer
8. Undiscovered First
9. Cicadas And Gulls
10. Woe Be
11. Comfort Me
12. Get It Wrong Get It Right

Feist has always experimented with different sounds and genres on each album, so I can only imagine what surprises she's got cooked up with four years to work on a new release. I'm looking forward to it.

No comments :