Thursday, August 30, 2012

Now Streaming: New CDs from Stars, Animal Collective, the Avett Brothers, & More

Podcast Party is back from its coastal vacation, and not a moment too soon: there's a boatload of great albums available for streaming this week. Stars, Animal Collective, the Avett Brothers, Deerhoof, Minus the Bear, Alanis Morissette, and Cat Power all have new CDs streaming this week.

After overdosing on most of the above during vacation, we're back to music.

And there are new discs from some veteran artists who haven't been heard from for some time: Art Garfunkel and Triumph. Though these albums are new, the music isn't: the latter is a live album, while the former is a 34-track "compilation of songs personally selected by Art Garfunkel from his life's work," and includes two new songs. (One-quarter of them are Simon & Garfunkel numbers, while the rest are Art Garfunkel.)

What else is streaming? A sampler of the complete studio recordings by Roxy Music, and the soundtrack to the new movie "Lawless," about gangsters in Prohibition-era Virginia, starring Shia Labeouf and featuring music by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis. (Cave also wrote the movie's screenplay.)

Let's hope that this week's streaming albums means the summer doldrums are over and lots of blockbuster Fall releases are on the way.

Video for "Today's Supernatural," from the new Animal Collective album.

NPR First Listen:
"The North" by Stars (also streaming at CBC)
"The Carpenter" by the Avett Brothers
"Centipede Hz" by Animal Collective
"Sun" by Cat Power
"Breakup Song" by Deerhoof's Listening Party:
"Infinity Overhead" by Minus the Bear
"The Singer" by Art Garfunkel
"Lawless: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
"Poor Moon" by Poor Moon
"The Complete Studio Recordings (Sampler)" by Roxy Music
"Havoc and Bright Lights" by Alanis Morissette
"Sublime Currency" by Abandoned Pools
"feathers & fishHooks" by Rayland Baxter
"Montage" EP by City Rain
"The Circle in the Square" EP by Flobots
"All I Did Was Tell Them The Truth And They Thought It Was Hell" by King of Spain
"Volume One" by Paul Cook & The Chronicles

AOL Music Listening Party: 
"My Bonneville" by Annie and the Beekeepers
"Live at Sweden Rock Festival" by Triumph
"Apologies" by David Ramirez
"Ingram Hill" by Ingram Hill
"Noble Stranger" by Nuala Kennedy
"New Day Dawning" by The Roys
"The Rain Is A Handsome Animal" by Tin Hat
"Shout It Loud And Clear" by Una Jensen
"And You Are Me" by Uncle Lucius

No comments :