Monday, June 27, 2011

Free Album Streaming: New CDs from Gillian Welch, Eilen Jewell, & More

"The Harrow And The Harvest" by Gillian Welch (shown above with David Rawlings), which comes out June 28th, is available for free online preview. Photo: Flickr user furtwangl.
There are quite a few good new albums available for free preview this week, especially from AOL Music and Spinner. Among the ones I'm most looking forward too are the new CDs from three Americana singer-songwriters: Eilen (pronounced "feelin'") Jewell, Gillian Welch, and Jolie Holland (former of the Be-Good Tanyas).

There are many other new releases you can preview (as always, I've listed just a sampling below), and Spinner is also offering online streaming of some of the CDs its dubbed the year's best so far, including those by Adele, Fleet Foxes, Tennis, and Yuck (odd name, good album).

NPR First Listen:
  • "The Harrow And The Harvest" by Gillian Welch's Listening Party:
  • "High Horses and Heels" by Marianne Faithfull
  • "Phoenix Rising" by Deep Purple
  • "Culture of Fear" by Thievery Corporation
  • "Pint of Blood" by Jolie Holland
  • ... and Spinner's Best of 2011 albums (so far), including "21" by Adele, "Arabia Mountain" by Black Lips, "Dye It Blonde" by the Smith Westerns, and "Helplessnes Blues" by Fleet Foxes
AOL Music Listening Party: 
  • "Taking Back Sunday" by Taking Back Sunday
  • "Queen of the Minor Key" by Eilen Jewell
  • ... and a number of albums by artists I haven't heard of, but sound interesting, including: "Liquid Zoo" by 100 Monkeys, "Idle Ages" by Junior Battles, and "The Verge" by There for Tomorrow

No comments :